A Day Off

Fun Type

I sometimes need to take a (billable) day off. This doesn’t mean that my creative wheels are not constantly spinning. Yesterday, while taking a break from working at my desk, I soaked up some local creative color, dove into a new book and watched a design documentary.

I have family visiting from Houston this week. We took my aunt and uncle to the DAM because it was their one request of what to see in Denver. We did the general admission and saw so many wonderful things. My favorite was the temporary photography exhibit, Garry Winogrand: Women are Beautiful. With most photos dating back to the 60s and 70s, it was a blast from the past with women in every day walks of life dressed in the apparel of that time.

Last week, I was alerted that a book on hold was ready for pick up at the library. Imagine: How Creativity Works  indicates that the hardest work is done while developing a creative concept. I’m excited to uncover the mysteries of how new ideas develop in our brains.

While reading the first few chapters, I thought about the creative powerhouses who inspire me and decided to put the book down and turn on Eames: The Architect and the PainterThis influential couple made a great impact on 20th century design. They collaborated as if they were one person “communicating with images rather than words.”

Today, I’m back at my desk and ready to get things going and make magic happen while riding the waves of my “day off.”

1 Response to “A Day Off”


  1. 1 Positioned Pixels (@PosPixels) June 20, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Coincidentally, I just added ‘Imagine: How Creativity Works’ to my hold list at the library yesterday. Let me know how you like it!


Leave a comment




Photos and Portfolio